You were convicted of sex crimes in Cincinnati, OH. You served your time and completed all requirements for release from jail. However, you forgot to register as a sex offender.
You do not want to go back to jail for a failure to register charge. What should you do?
Contact our Cincinnati failure to register as a sex offender lawyer at Suhre & Associates, LLC for help. We understand that mistakes happen. Let us help you straighten the matter out before it becomes worse.
With over 100 years of combined experience in criminal defense, our Cincinnati criminal defense lawyers fight for the legal rights of people in Cincinnati, Ohio.
Call us today to schedule your free consultation. You do not need to face this matter alone.
Table of Contents
How Our Cincinnati Criminal Defense Lawyers Can Help if You Are Facing Charges Related to Sex Offenses
Being charged with a sexual offense or other crime can be frightening. Whether you committed the crime or not, you need an exceptional legal team working on our behalf to develop a defense strategy that gives you the best chance to beat the charges.
The Cincinnati criminal defense attorneys of Suhre & Associates, LLC provide aggressive, effective legal representation for individuals facing criminal charges. Our legal team includes a former prosecutor and a former police officer. We have a profound understanding of how the criminal justice system works, and we use that knowledge to fight for our clients’ rights to a fair and just proceeding.
When you hire our legal team, you can expect us to:
- Provide compassionate, caring legal services without judgment
- Be available 24/7 when you need a criminal defense lawyer
- Provide an honest, free assessment of your case
- Aggressively investigate the criminal allegations against you
- Develop the best defense strategy given the facts of your case
- Be prepared to take your case to trial if that is what is in your best interest
- Stand with you during every court appearance and phase of your case to provide guidance and support
Our Cincinnati defense attorneys have over 100 years of experience. Our lawyers have won numerous awards for their legal services and the results they achieve. Let us use your considerable skills, resources, and knowledge to defend you against criminal charges.
Contact us online or call our Hamilton County law firm to schedule a free consultation with one of our Cincinnati sex crimes attorneys.
Overview of the Ohio Sex Offender Registration Requirements
The requirements to register with the sex offender’s registry depend on the criminal offense the person committed. According to Ohio law, individuals convicted of crimes involving minors under 18 years old or sex offenses are required to submit their names as registered sex offenders.
Crimes involving children and sex crimes are placed into tiers according to the seriousness of the crime. Tier I contains the least serious crimes of the three tiers.
The three tiers of the sex offender’s registry are:
Tier I offenders register for 15 years. They must register once every 12 months. Crimes in Tier I include pandering, voyeurism, public indecency in front of a minor, and promoting prostitution.
Tier II offenders register for 25 years. They must register every 180 days with local law enforcement agencies. Sex crimes in Tier II include child pornography, human trafficking, abduction/kidnapping, compelling prostitution, and unlawful sexual conduct.
Tier III offenders register for the rest of their lives. They must register with law enforcement agencies every 90 days. Crimes in Tier III include rape, murder, aggravated murder, sexual battery, and sexually violent predator classification.
Anyone who engages in sexual offenses or child-victim offenses and is convicted cannot live within 1,000 feet from daycares, schools, and preschools.
What Happens if I Fail to Register as a Sex Offender in Ohio?
You do not want to be charged with failing to register as a sex offender in Ohio. Judges take these charges very seriously and tend to hand down harsh sentences. In some cases, you could serve a longer sentence than you did for the original criminal conviction.
Failing to register could result in additional criminal charges and penalties.
- First-time offenders could serve a jail sentence between six to 18 months.
- However, if your crime was a first, second, or third-degree felony, you could serve the full prison sentence for failing to register that your original charge carried.
- If you fail to register for a second time, you could be sentenced to one to five years in prison.
When the original criminal charge was a first, second, or third-degree felony, your prison sentence may be longer than it would have been for the original charge.
Schedule a Free Consultation With Our Cincinnati Failure to Register as a Sex Offender Lawyers
If you failed to register as a sex offender or failed to register as required by the registry tier, contact our Cincinnati failure to register as a sex offender lawyer. Our defense lawyers are ready to help you when you need a trusted legal advocate for criminal defendants.