Were you recently arrested for engaging in unlawful sexual conduct with a minor in Cincinnati, Ohio?
If so, you would be smart to act quickly to try to prevent your criminal charge from turning into a conviction.
You can begin by reaching out to a skilled Cincinnati child molestation lawyer from Suhre & Associates, LLC at (513) 333-0014.
How Our Criminal Defense Attorneys Can Help with Your Cincinnati Child Molestation Case
If you don’t fight child molestation charges fiercely, your future can disappear in front of your eyes. The best way to defend yourself is by making sure that you have an experienced criminal defense attorney in Cincinnati in your corner. Here’s why the team at Suhre & Associates, LLC should be your first call after an arrest. We’ll:
- Fight to secure a reasonable bond on your behalf
- Prevent the prosecution from violating your civil rights
- Answer any questions you might have about the judicial system
- Launch an independent investigation into the state’s allegations
- Provide you with sound legal advice and guidance at all times
- Look for evidence that might help your child molestation case
- Help you understand your legal options
- Research and devise an effective defense strategy for your case
- Work out a plea bargain deal with the prosecuting attorney
- Represent you in criminal court, if required
Would you like to have a seasoned Cincinnati sex crime attorney from Suhre & Associates, LLC, represent you throughout your child molestation case? If so, please contact us today to arrange a free initial consultation at our law office in Cincinnati, OH.
An Overview of Ohio’s Child Molestation Statutes
The Ohio Revised Code features several statutes that make it illegal for a person to engage in sexual touching or activity with children, such as:
Unlawful Sexual Conduct with a Minor
According to section 2907.04 of the Ohio Revised Code, it is illegal for any individual to engage in sexual conduct with a person who they know to be between the ages of 13 and 16, when they are at least 18 years old.
Individuals who violate this Ohio law are guilty of unlawful sexual conduct with a minor.
State prosecutors can classify this sex offense as a:
- Felony of the second degree
- Felony of the third degree
- Felony of the fourth degree, or
- Misdemeanor of the first degree
The severity of the crime typically depends on the ages of the offender and the victim.
According to section 2907.07 of the Ohio Revised Code, it is illegal for any individual to solicit sexual activity from a person who is less than 13 years of age – even if the victim’s age is not known to the offender.
This Ohio law also explains that it is not lawful for any individual who is at least 18 years of age and more than four years older than their victim to:
- Use a telecommunications device to solicit sexual activity from a person who is younger than 16 years of age, or
- Solicit a person who is between the ages of 13 and 17 to engage in sexual conduct
When police officers catch someone violating this statute, they have the power to charge them with importuning.
Ohio courts typically punish crimes of this nature as:
- Felonies of the second degree
- Felonies of the third degree
- Felonies of the fourth degree, or
- Felonies of the fifth degree
As with many sexual offenses, the severity of this crime usually depends on the ages of the offender and the victim.
According to section 2907.06 of the Ohio Revised Code, it is illegal for any individual to have sexual contact with another person when:
- The victim is between the ages of 13 and 16, and
- The offender is at least 18 years of age and is at least four years older than the victim
Anyone who violates this law is guilty of sexual imposition.
Under Ohio law, this offense is almost always a misdemeanor of the third degree. However, under some circumstances, the state may opt to bump it up to a misdemeanor of the first degree.
Gross Sexual Imposition
According to section 2907.05 of the Ohio Revised Code, it is illegal for any individual to touch the genitals of a child who is younger than 12 years old to abuse, humiliate, arouse, or harass any party.
This statute also explains that it is not lawful for an individual to engage in sexual contact with a child who is younger than 13 years of age – even if the victim’s age is not known to the offender.
Has a police officer in Hamilton County accused you of committing one of these criminal offenses? Then please do not hesitate to seek legal advice from an experienced defense lawyer at Suhre & Associates, LLC. We have been working on cases like yours for years, and know what it takes to win.
Consequences of Ohio Child Molestation Convictions
Convicted child molesters in Cincinnati typically face substantial fines and terms of imprisonment. Judges generally refer to the following guidelines when determining the extent of an offender’s punishment:
- Misdemeanors of the Third Degree: A fine of up to $500 and as long as 60 days in jail
- Misdemeanors of the Second Degree: A fine of up to $750 and as long as 90 days in jail
- Misdemeanors of the First Degree: A fine of up to $1,000 and as long as 180 days in jail
- Felonies of the Fifth Degree: A fine of up to $2,500 and as long as 12 months in prison
- Felonies of the Fourth Degree: A fine of up to $5,000 and as long as 18 months in prison
- Felonies of the Third Degree: A fine of up to $10,000 and as long as five years in prison
- Felonies of the Second Degree: A fine of up to $15,000 and as long as eight years in prison
In Ohio, courts have the authority to extend the terms of imprisonment for felonies of the second degree by 50 percent. This power can transform an eight-year sentence into a 12-year sentence.
Of course, Cincinnati residents who molest children don’t just spend time behind bars or pay a fine. The court also requires them to register as sex offenders.
The length of time they must remain on the register depends on the tier level in which the judge opts to place them:
- Tier III Offenders: Remain on the register for the rest of their lives
- Tier II Offenders: Remain on the register for 25 years
- Tier I Offenders: Remain on the register for 15 years
For as long as they stay on the register, offenders must adhere to a strict set of rules and restrictions. Many convicted child molesters must:
- Refrain from living near schools
- Submit to computer monitoring
- Abstain from consuming alcohol
- Avoid working with children and vulnerable adults
- Refrain from owning, carrying, or using firearms
Do you need a skilled attorney at law to help you fight to avoid the severe consequences of a Cincinnati child abuse or molestation conviction? If so, please do not hesitate to pick up the phone and get in touch with Suhre & Associates, LLC. Our Lawyers have been working in the Ohio legal system for years and are ready to go to battle for you.
Defenses Against Child Molestation Charges in the State of Ohio
The best way to prevent a child molestation charge from transforming into a conviction is with the help of an effective defense strategy, such as:
If a defense attorney can prove that their client was elsewhere when the alleged offense occurred, they should have little trouble getting their case dismissed.
Lack of Evidence
To convict someone of a criminal offense in Ohio, prosecutors must prove their guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. When lawyers go to court to argue that the prosecution has not brought forth enough evidence to support its claims, they can often convince the jury to acquit their client.
It is, unfortunately, not unusual for Ohio police officers to coerce innocent people to commit crimes so that they may arrest them. If an attorney can prove that their client only broke the law because they were forced to do so, they should be able to get their charges dismissed.
Would you like to have a skilled lawyer from Suhre & Associates, LLC, help you devise a defense to your child sexual abuse and molestation charges? Then please contact our law offices in Cincinnati as soon as you possibly can. We are always ready, willing, and able to assist.
Your Skilled Child Molestation Lawyer in Cincinnati, Ohio
When the people of Cincinnati need an experienced attorney to help them fight back against their child molestation charge, they know that they can rely on Suhre & Associates, LLC. Our team has been assisting clients with their legal issues for many years – securing countless favorable outcomes along the way.