You’ve probably heard of the terms DUI, DWI, OVI, OMVI, but what does each of them mean? In Ohio, they all mean the same thing.
A person charged with DUI in Ohio faces a myriad of consequences and needs the aggressive Cincinnati DUI Attorneys at Suhre & Associates, LLC, for their DUI defense.
DUI/OVI Penalties in Hamilton County, Ohio
Ohio DUI/OVI laws stipulate that first-time drunk driving offenders lose their driver’s license for up to three years, pay fines of up to $1,075 and spend a minimum of three days in jail or a residential driver’s intervention program. If you are convicted for a DUI, you will have a criminal record, which could impact your ability to travel and find or keep a job.
If you have been arrested for an OVI/DUI in Cincinnati you will need professional help. Please contact one of our Cincinnati DUI Attorneys at Suhre & Associates for a FREE DUI/OVI Consultation by calling (513) 333-0014. We answer our phones 24 hours a day.
DUI convictions carry certain mandatory minimum penalties. Depending on factors, such as the number of prior convictions in the past six years and the past 20 years. Other factors include whether or not there was a breath, blood, or urine test and if the results are over the legal limit. This is known as a “high-tier” test. Learn more about Ohio’s DUI Penalties.
For most clients, their first concern is being able to drive again. When a person is charged with a DUI and has refused a blood alcohol test, or has taken the test and tested over the legal limit, the right to operate a motor vehicle in Ohio is immediately suspended. This is called an Administrative License Suspension (ALS). Learn more about Ohio’s Limited Driving Privilege.
As your Cincinnati DUI attorney we can petition the court to 1) throw out the suspension, 2) stay the suspension, or 3) grant temporary limited driving privileges for work, school, medical, and family needs. Depending on whether you have a prior DUI or a refusal of the blood alcohol test on your record, these privileges may be granted as soon as 15 days after the date of arrest. Learn more about Ohio’s Administrative License Suspension (ALS).
Cincinnati DUI Attorneys Defense Overview
If you tested over the “legal limit,” you can still win your DUI case. There are many DUI defenses available if you have been accused to have a test result over the legal limit.
Defending a DUI case involves a mixture of investigation, development of a DUI defense against an opinion of the arresting officer, and defense against a test or refusal. Our Cincinnati DUI attorneys work vigorously to put together the best DUI defense for your case.
- Breath Test Information and Defenses
- Blood Test Information and Defenses
- Urine Test Information and Defenses
Two Main Types of DUI Offenses
- Appreciable impairment offense:
The state must prove that a person operated a motor vehicle after consumption of some alcohol, drugs of abuse, or a combination of the two and their ability to operate the motor vehicle was appreciably impaired.
- “Per se” offense:
To be convicted of a per se offense, the state must prove that you operated a motor vehicle and that at the time of operation, not the time of the test, you had a prohibited concentration of alcohol or drugs in your blood, breath or urine.
Visit our Resources page for more information and websites.