December 8, 2020 | Ohio Law
If you plan to own or possess a gun in Ohio, you need to understand Ohio gun laws. Even though you are guaranteed by the Second Amendment the right to own a gun, Ohio state laws govern gun ownership and rights within the state.
You might be able to openly carry a gun in Ohio, but you could face weapons charges if you violate any state gun laws. Ohio may appear to many as a pro-gun state. However, prosecutors and judges take weapons offenses very seriously.
Let’s review some of the important information you need to know about Ohio gun laws.
Open Carry Laws in Ohio
You have the right to openly carry a legal firearm in Ohio in most public places. You are not required to have a special permit or license to openly carry a legal firearm.
However, you do not have the right to carry weapons in certain places.
Places that you cannot legally carry your weapon include:
- Polling locations
- Private property where there are signs or you are notified that carrying a weapon is prohibited
If you have questions about whether a firearm is permitted in a specific location, ask before entering with your gun. It is better to ask than to have the police arrive to arrest you for a weapons offense and be in the need of a criminal defense lawyer in Cincinnati Ohio.
Can I Carry a Concealed Gun in Ohio?
Yes, Ohio does permit individuals to carry concealed guns in the state. However, you must have a CCW (carrying a concealed weapon) license. You must apply for a CCW license through the sheriff’s office in the county where you reside.
Before you can apply for your CCW license, you must complete a firearms safety training course. The certificate of completion of your training must accompany your CCW license application.
Other requirements for obtaining a license to carry a concealed weapon in Ohio include, but may not be limited to:
- Be a lawful resident or citizen of the United States
- Payment of the application fee
- Certification that you have not been denied a CCW in another state or had your CCW suspended by another state
- Are not the subject of a civil protection order
- Not be addicted to alcohol or controlled substances
- Not be dishonorably discharged from military service
- Submit to fingerprinting
After you receive your CCW license, you can carry a concealed firearm in most places in Ohio. However, you cannot carry your weapon in any of the above locations where people are prohibited from openly carrying firearms.
What is the Legal Process for Purchasing Firearms in Ohio?
Ohio does not require individuals to complete an application or obtain a license to purchase a rifle, handgun, or shotgun. As long as the person meets the requirements to purchase these firearms, they can walk into any store and buy a gun.
To purchase a firearm, you must:
- Provide proof of age. You must be 18 years old to buy a shotgun or rifle. You must be 21 years old to buy a handgun.
- Provide proof that you live in Ohio or work for an Ohio-based employer
- Confirm that you do not have any disability that would prevent you from buying a gun
- Complete a short questionnaire
- Submit to a background check
Since Ohio does not have a mandatory waiting period for the purchase of rifles, shotguns, or handguns, most individuals can receive their guns the same day, provided they meet all the qualifications for purchasing a gun.
What are the Disabilities That Prevent a Person From Buying a Firearm?
Ohio prohibits specific individuals from purchasing a gun. Disabilities that prevent you from purchasing a gun in Ohio include:
- Being judged incompetent or mentally ill
- Being a drug addict or chronic alcohol
- Being convicted of a felony drug offense
- Being convicted of a violent felony offense
If you are disqualified from purchasing a gun and question the reason, you can contact a lawyer to discuss your legal options for fighting the decision. If you are caught carrying a weapon while under disability, you could face severe criminal penalties.
Carrying a weapon under a disability is usually a third-degree felony. You could face between one and five years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine for a conviction.
Fighting Weapons Charges in Ohio
Common weapons charges in Ohio include, but are not limited to:
- Carrying a weapon under a disability
- Unlawful possession of a concealed weapon
- Possession of a defaced firearm
- Possession of a firearm in a school safety zone
- Using weapons while intoxicated
- Providing guns to minors
- Illegal gun use
- Possession of guns in prohibited locations
If you are charged with a weapons offense or gun crime, you have the right to legal representation. A weapons charges attorney can review your case and advise about your legal rights and options for defending yourself against the charges.
Contact the Cincinnati Criminal Defense Attorneys at Suhre & Associates, LLC For Help Today
Suhre & Associates, LLC – Cincinnati
600 Vine Street, Suite 1004
Cincinnati, OH 45202