August 2, 2023 | DUI
A charge for DUI can affect your finances negatively. DUI costs can include court fees, fines, and license reinstatement fees, just to name a few.
Fortunately, when you have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side, your lawyer can work to avoid many of the penalties you’d face otherwise, including fines and conviction-related fees.
What Is a DUI?
A DUI refers to “driving under the influence,” also referred to as an OVI, or “operating a vehicle under the influence.” In Ohio, like every other state, it is against the law to operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. An individual can face a DUI conviction for a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or greater.
Law enforcement officers conduct several roadside tests, including the breathalyzer, to determine whether someone is past the legal limit. If they deem a person to be intoxicated, an arrest and formal charge follow.
If charged with driving under the influence, a defense attorney can craft a defense strategy to help achieve a more favorable outcome.
Penalties For a DUI Conviction in Ohio
The penalties for a DUI conviction depend on the details of the charge and a person’s criminal history, including whether there are previous convictions for DUI. Penalties for DUI can include jail time and license suspension.
For a first-time offense, jail time could be anywhere from three days to six months. First offenses come with a mandatory one-year license suspension that could go up to three years.
Second convictions come with 10 days to six months of potential jail time and a license suspension of one to seven years.
Third offenses involve jail time for 10 days to one year and license suspension for two to 12 years.
Additionally, a judge may order drug and alcohol treatment. Treatment is usually optional for first-time offenders but required for subsequent offenders.
Aggravated DUI charges, which mean the offender had a BAC of 0.17% or greater, are subject to stricter penalties. These penalties can include mandatory jail sentences, house arrest, and alcohol monitoring under Community Control Sanctions, Ohio’s version of probation that serves as an alternative to jail.
Costs Associated With Ohio DUIs
Along with jail time and license suspensions, a DUI conviction can require an offender to pay fines.
Fines vary but could include:
- $375 to $1,075 for a first offense
- $525 to $1,625 for a second offense
- $850 to $2,750 for a third offense
Additionally, other arrest and conviction-related expenses add up quickly, including:
- Vehicle towing
- Court fees
- Reinstatement of driver’s license
- Purchasing and installing an ignition interlock device
- Purchasing an alcohol-monitoring ankle bracelet
Getting a conviction for DUI in Ohio can be costly. This is one of the primary reasons to hire a qualified defense attorney.
Ohio DUI Defense Attorney’s Fees
When you hire a DUI defense lawyer in Ohio, you’ll need to add the fees for their legal services to your list of expenses. Legal fees vary based on your specific lawyer and the complexity of your case. Still, hiring a defense attorney is money well spent.
A criminal defense lawyer can actually save you money in the long run. When your attorney creates your defense strategy, their goal is to get you the fairest outcome. This could include saving you money on fines and fees you would otherwise have to pay had you not had a strong defense and successful outcome.
If you’re facing charges for DUI in Cincinnati, OH, do not hesitate to hire a defense lawyer to represent you. A skilled attorney can fight to protect your rights and your future.
Contact the Cincinnati DUI Attorneys at Suhre & Associates, LLC For Help Today
Suhre & Associates, LLC – Cincinnati
600 Vine Street, Suite 1004
Cincinnati, OH 45202